Raspberry Pi Bookshelf on Ubuntu 20.10 amd64

Happy Thanksgiving!

I recently started using Ubuntu 20.10 amd64 on my new HP Omen 5 laptop where I’ll be developing some software for Raspberry Pi. I had originally tried to use Raspberry Pi OS on one of my Raspberry Pi 3B+ boards, but found that the OS hung up under general use (I like browser tabs too much).

However, in the process of using Raspberry Pi OS, I discovered its really cool Bookshelf app which was recently added.

Here’s a blurb about the Bookshelf app:

Bookshelf shows the entire current catalogue of free magazines – The MagPi, HackSpace magazine and Wireframe, all with a complete set of back issues – and also all the free books from Raspberry Pi Press. When you run the application, it automatically updates the catalogue and shows any new titles which have been released since you last ran it with a little “new” flash in the corner of the cover.

https://www.raspberrypi.org/blog/latest-raspberry-pi-os-update-may-2020

I found myself missing the Bookshelf app, so here is how to install the Bookshelf app on Ubuntu 20.10 amd64:

# Download the package.
wget https://archive.raspberrypi.org/debian/pool/main/r/rp-bookshelf/rp-bookshelf_0.6_amd64.deb

# Install the package.
sudo dpkg -i rp-bookshelf_0.6_amd64.deb

# Add Bookshelf to your Applications in GNOME.
mkdir -p ~/.local/share/applications
cd $_
grep -v NotShowIn /usr/share/applications/rp-bookshelf.desktop > rp-bookshelf.desktop

Results:

Cheers!

-Joshua

Leave a comment